Saturday… oh God, Saturday

I’ve decided to throw my hat into the ring for Master’s Worlds in October; after my pitiful showing at the 2012 Pan Ams, I’ve also decided that I will not sell myself short on time and begin training the living hell out of my body and mind so that I can be the most dangerous weapon possible.

Right after I decide this, a buddy from Mauricio’s school starts teaching at the gym I attend; he’s a brown-belt named Jeff whom I keep giving nick-names to (more on that some other time) and who loves to kick the ever-loving shit out of people in the name of preparation. So, a few of us meet at 8:30 am on Saturday morning, an hour and a half before jitz. Jeff tells us that A. this is going to suck, B. it’s good for you and C. it will help make you the champion you want to be because it’s physical and mental conditioning.

On the inside, I’m going “holy shit, holy shit, holy shit.”

For the next hour or so, we are his pawns. There’s rowing, resistance band drills, battle ropes in myriad positions, planking, flow combos with a training dummy, running and more rowing.

I wanted to quit. I wanted to vomit (and nearly did); more than that though, I wanted to kill, destroy and eat this workout the next time I saw it because I knew, without a shadow of a doubt, that this punishment (for lack of a better term) was going to help me on the mats.

In 2012, I did almost no physical preparation outside of jiu-jitsu. Mental preparation was even more of a joke. This time around, I hope to destroy some of those inner demons and burn down those walls before even seeing my opponent across from me.

After “the woodshed” (what I’ve taken to calling our time off the mat with Jeff), we managed to make it to class. We went over some de la riva sweeps (including taking the back) and did some positional work, then sparring. Even after all of the hard work, I still managed to hold my own and get a sweep here or there.

Looking forward to more of the same next week!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

