Insanity

I realized something yesterday in class: I’ve continued to try and hit the same moves over and over though they’ve stopped working for me because my training partners are wise to my antics.

I’ve essentially been acting crazy, loco, insane.

Where do we draw the line between “if at first you don’t succeed, try try again” and “the definition of insanity is doing something repeatedly and expecting different results”?

For me, attempting to hit the scissor sweep to the right while someone was in my guard went from item A to item B. For 2 months, I hit that sweep continuously; it was my bread and butter; then, for the next 2 months, people saw it coming, based out, blocked, defended, PASSED! I continued down a road of destruction, hoping I might hit it one more time. I went from try, try again to dammit, this sucks! in no time flat.

So yesterday, I opted for something else. I went for the scissor, it got blocked and I came back to guard. In doing so, my opponent’s hand was up, reaching far for my wrist; I moved that hand all the way outside, wide and they followed. I went for the sit-up sweep and ended up hiting the kimura from guard, for the first time ever.

It’s always nice when trying new things pays off and I get my sanity back!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

