“To cut weight or not to cut weight?”

That is the question.

Tonight, I’m registering for the IBJJF Pan Ams and I couldn’t be more nervous. I’m mentally prepared, have confidence in my ability as a new-born jiu jitsoka, have trust in my instructors, but I’m NERVOUS about the potential weight cut.

Tonight, I have to decide which weight class I’ll be rolling in; either at lightweight where I’d walk in about 4 lbs light, or featherweight, for which I’d have to cut about 10 lbs in 3 weeks (not undoable). I don’t want to get smashed by really heavy guys but I don’t want to be too fatigued to roll multiple times one day due to a weight cut, either.

I wrestled in high school a bit and dropped 19 lbs in 9 days… and lost my first match of a tournament because I was so dehydrated/fatigued. I worry about the same thing in this scenario. I’ve got friends who cut weight in a healthy manner all the time though, so I’ll be sure to talk to them about it if I decide to go that route.

Keep me in your jiu-jitsu hearts.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “To cut weight or not to cut weight?”

  1. dave petelo says:

    dude, you can do it. I’ll help you out!

Leave a Reply

